Gratitude

I know some incredible people. People who are caring, empathetic, giving, and kind. Some of these people I have never met in real life and probably never will. Others live far away and I don’t get to see them often. Still others live right here in my town, but we don’t meet up, because life, because kids, because social anxiety, etc.
 
Yet all of these people show their love and support for me in other ways.  A simple text, facebook message, or comment on my photos can lift my spirits so much.  I’ve had people take the time to make handcrafted items for my babies.  People have offered to take my older kids out to do things.  My mom will often come over and fold my laundry, which is such a huge help.  I’ve even had someone order boxes of diapers, on several occasions, and have them delivered to my door – how AMAZING is that?!
Parenting two infants plus three other kids is no easy feat.  No mother could do this all by herself.  I know that when I am struggling – which is often, lately – I have a whole network of supportive people all across the country who are rooting for me.  I never would have thought, when I was a shy, geeky kid who couldn’t manage to navigate the childhood social hierarchy, that someday I would have the amount of real, true friends that I have now.
Some of the most common remarks I hear as a mom of twins are: “I don’t know how you do it” and “supermom!”  The thing is, I am not supermom.  Not even close.  I’m just a regular, run of the mill mom.  A mom who is tired, a mom who struggles, but a mom who, above all else, loves her children.  And to answer the age old question of “how do you do it?!” I’ll have to quote The Beatles:
“I get by with a little help from my friends.”
i-get-by-with-a-little-help-from-my-friends-8
Image is a black on white graphic with the words “I get by with a little help from my friends” written in a cursive scrawl, surrounded by music notes and a peace sign.
Leave a Reply

