The Accident

Seat belts saved my life today, and also the life of another driver.

I was on my way to a meeting at Juliette’s school, when I somehow made an oversight while driving and was struck at an intersection by a semi truck. I wasn’t distracted, wasn’t on my phone or messing with the radio. I’ve had a perfect driving record up until today. I’m still trying to make sense of how this occurred. All I know is that things can happen in an instant and change your life forever.

I spent the day at the hospital, but walked (hobbled) away with only a bruised kidney, internal bleeding around my liver, and a compression fracture of my first lumbar vertebra. I am in a lot of pain, but I am home with my family, and I am alive.

I feel like the physical and emotional pain are only beginning to affect me. Both will likely get worse before they get better.

I am so grateful that my husband and our children were not in the car with me when the collision occurred. I am also thankful for the help and support of my mother and my mother-in-law. But most of all, I am grateful for that seat belt. Without it I would not be here.

Please, take a moment to put on your seat belt each time you are in a vehicle. Also, if you have children, take the time to learn how to properly install the correct carseats, and properly restrain your children.

A crash can happen in an instant…

{Image is a photo of our smashed up white minivan. The entire right side of the front has been obliterated. The license plate has been (badly) edited out of the photo by me}
Leave a Reply

